Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Bye bye Chaperon rouge (VOF)
Location
Main screening room
Date
August 31st, 2022
Duration
94 min
Cycle
Márta Mészáros X 12

This Hungarian filmmaker was one of the pioneers of women's cinema written in the first person. Screened occasionally in Quebec, her films have not been seen for a long time, despite a longstanding closeness (she directed one of the Contes pour tous, produced by Rock Demers). Thanks to a major restoration project, we are presenting new prints of her most emblematic films, as well as two films from our collections.

Bye bye Chaperon rouge
Directed by
Márta Mészáros
Language
VOF
Actors
Fanny Lauzier, Anna Blacejczak, Pamela Collyer
Origins
Québec, Hungary
Year
1989
Duration
94 min
Genre
Fantasy, family
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

Since childhood, Fanny has lived with her mother, a meteorologist, in the heart of an enchanting forest where her paternal grandmother and great-grandmother also live. One day, 12-year-old Fanny leaves the usual path that leads to her grandmother's house and wanders into the woods.

Bye bye Chaperon rouge

Márta Mészáros

Born in Hungary, Márta Mészáros spent her early years in the Soviet Union, her communist father having fled there to escape the dictatorship of his native country. But he disappeared during Stalin's purges at the end of the 1930s. Shortly afterwards, Mészáros also lost her mother. These early tragedies had an impact on the autobiographical part of her work. Following her film studies in Moscow, she returned to Hungary and made many short films, especially documentaries, an aspect that would persist in her later work. In the 1960s, she joined the Mafilm Group 4 and met the filmmaker Miklós Jancsó, who became her husband. In 1968, Cati made her the first woman to direct a feature film in Hungary. Mészáros then made a series of films, sometimes defying censorship and never shying away from any social issue. Political, feminist and formally audacious, her work has met with both critical and public success over the years, making her a key name in Eastern European cinema.

Explore

About Bye bye Chaperon rouge
Full cast
About Márta Mészáros
Filmography
Agnieszka Holland's laudatio for Márta Mészáros
Márta Mészáros - European Lifetime Achievement Award
Hanna Schygulla und Márta Mészáros im Gespräch – Berlinale 2019
Open
October 4th, 2022
Salò, or the 120 Days of Sodome (Salò o le 120 giornate di Sodoma)
October 5th, 2022
Chronicle of a Summer
October 7th, 2022
L.A. Zombie

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Bye bye Chaperon rouge (VOF)
mercredi 31 août 2022
à 18:30
Date
mercredi 31 août 2022
à 18:30
Acheter un billet
Le 31 août 2022
Bye bye Chaperon rouge
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 31 août 2022
Durée
94 min
Cycles
Márta Mészáros X 12

Cette cinéaste hongroise a été l'une des pionnières du cinéma au féminin écrit à la première personne. Diffusés de temps en temps au Québec, ses films n'ont pas été vus depuis longtemps, malgré une proximité au long cours (elle a réalisé l'un des Contes pour tous, produit par Rock Demers). À la faveur d'un projet de restaurations majeur, nous présentons des nouvelles copies de ses films les plus emblématiques, auxquelles s'ajoutent deux films en provenance de nos collections.

Bye bye Chaperon rouge
Réalisé par
Márta Mészáros
Langue
VOF
Mettant en vedette
Fanny Lauzier, Anna Blacejczak, Pamela Collyer
Pays
Québec, Hongrie
Année
1989
Durée
94 min
Genre
Fantastique, famille
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

Depuis son enfance, Fanny vit avec sa mère, météorologue de profession, au coeur d'une forêt enchanteresse où habitent également sa grand-mère et son arrière-grand-mère paternelles. Un jour, Fanny, 12 ans, quitte le sentier habituel qui mène chez sa grand-mère et s'égare dans les bois.

Bye bye Chaperon rouge

Márta Mészáros

Née en Hongrie, Márta Mészáros passe ses premières années en Union soviétique, son père communiste s’y étant réfugié pour fuir la dictature de son pays d’origine. Mais il disparaît lors des purges staliniennes à la fin de années 1930. Peu après, Mészáros perd également sa mère. Ces tragédies précoces auront un impact sur la part autobiographique de son œuvre. Suite à des études cinématographiques à Moscou, elle revient en Hongrie et réalise de très nombreux courts métrages, notamment en documentaire, aspect qui perdurera dans son œuvre ultérieure. Dans les années 1960, elle rejoint le Mafilm Group 4 et rencontre le cinéaste Miklós Jancsó, qui devient son mari. En 1968, Cati fait d’elle la première femme à réaliser un long métrage en Hongrie. Mészáros enchaîne ensuite les films, défiant parfois la censure et ne reculant devant aucun sujet de société. Politique, féministe, formellement audacieuse, son œuvre a rencontré au fil des ans un succès à la fois critique et public, faisant d’elle un nom incontournable du cinéma d’Europe de l’Est.

Explorer

À propos de Bye bye Chaperon rouge
Distribution complète
À propos Márta Mészáros
Filmographie
Agnieszka Holland's laudatio for Márta Mészáros
Márta Mészáros - European Lifetime Achievement Award
Hanna Schygulla und Márta Mészáros im Gespräch – Berlinale 2019
Ouvrir