Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Cabascabo
Location
Main screening room
Date
June 26th, 2021
Duration
49 min
Cycle
Black at the camera

Black at the Camera is more than a hundred years of Black cinema. From silent cinema dealing with segregation to films testifying decolonization; from animation to documentaries, including historical reconstructions. The new generation is not left out, expressing itself with aplomb in all forms of contemporary cinema. This ensemble also reflects the work of Canadian and Quebec filmmakers, will be presented to the public at the Cinémathèque québécoise throughout the month of June.

This program, produced in collaboration with the Fabienne Colas Foundation and the Montreal International Black Film Festival, is also supported by the Cinémathèque Afrique of The Institut français.

Tickets will be on sale on May 20.

La mort de Gandji
Directed by
Moustapha Alassane
Language
VOF
Origins
Quebec
Year
1965
Duration
4 min
Genre
animation
Format
Digital
Synopsis

An animated film made with humor and tenderness, set in a small village in the African bush.

La mort de Gandji
Cabascabo
Directed by
Oumarou Ganda
Language
VOF
Actors
Oumarou Ganda, Zalika Souley, Balarabi
Origins
Niger
Year
1969
Duration
45 min
Genre
Drama
Format
DCP
Synopsis

After serving in the French expeditionary corps in Indochina, an African rifleman is demobilized and returns home to Niger, wealthy and acclaimed by his friends. But he is too generous with his fortune, and soon finds himself deserted. A cult film with American film-makers and film studies lecturers, this is Oumarou Ganda's answer to Jean Rouch's film Moi, un noir (I, a Negro) in which he played himself in the role of a Senegalese rifleman who took part in the Indochinese war.

Cabascabo

Oumarou Ganda

Oumarou Ganda (1935 – 1 January 1981) was a Nigerien director and actor who helped bring African cinema to international attention in the 1960s and 1970s. As the winner of the Best Film award at the first annual FESPACO film festival, upon his death FESPACO began awarding an African Feature Film Award named the Oumarou Ganda Prize. (Wikipedia)

Image : Africa Vivre

Explore

+5

Image : Cité Films

Image : Skitty Cinema Liberation Front

Image : Skitty Cinema Liberation Front

Image : TV5monde

Image : Africacultures

Filmography
More on Oumarou Ganda
Filmograhymography
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Cabascabo
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 26 juin 2021
Durée
49 min
Cycles
Noir.e.s à la caméra

Noir.e.s à la caméra, c'est plus de cent ans de cinéma Black. Du cinéma muet abordant avec acuité la ségrégation, aux films témoignant de la décolonisation ; du cinéma d'animation au documentaire, en passant par les reconstitutions historiques. La relève n'est pas en reste, s'exprimant avec plein d'aplomb dans toutes les formes du cinéma contemporain. L'ensemble de ce cinéma, dont une part rend compte du travail de cinéastes canadien.ne.s et québécois.e.s, se dévoilera sous les yeux du public de la Cinémathèque québécoise tout le mois de juin.

Cette programmation, réalisée en collaboration avec la Fondation Fabienne Colas et le Festival International du Film Black de Montréal, bénéficie également du soutien de la Cinémathèque Afrique de l'Institut français.

La mort de Gandji
Réalisé par
Moustapha Alassane
Langue
VOF
Pays
Québec
Année
1965
Durée
4 min
Genre
animation
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

Un film d'animation réalisé avec humour et tendresse dont l'action se situe dans un petit village de la brousse africaine. (ONF)

La mort de Gandji
Cabascabo
Réalisé par
Oumarou Ganda
Langue
VOF
Mettant en vedette
Oumarou Ganda, Zalika Souley, Balarabi
Pays
Niger
Année
1969
Durée
45 min
Genre
Drame
Format
DCP
Synopsis

Un des films cultes des cinéastes et professeurs de cinéma américains. La réponse d’Oumarou Ganda au film Moi, un noir de Jean Rouch, dans lequel il interprétait son propre « rôle », celui d’un « tirailleur sénégalais » enrôlé dans la guerre d’Indochine

Cabascabo

Oumarou Ganda

Oumarou Ganda est un acteur et réalisateur nigérien, de l'ethnie Djerma, né en 1935 à Niamey et mort le 1er janvier 1981 dans la même ville. Arrivé à Paris pour le montage de son premier film Cabascabo en plein Mai 1968, Oumarou Ganda réussit à faire une première dans la capitale française. Sélectionné au Festival de Cannes en 1965 pour la semaine de la critique internationale, deux mois plus tard, il obtient le Prix spécial du jury au sixième festival de Moscou puis à Malaga (Espagne) le Prix de la critique internationale. (Wikipédia)

Image : Africa Vivre

À explorer

+5

Image : Cité Films

Image : Skitty Cinema Liberation Front

Image : Skitty Cinema Liberation Front

Image : TV5monde

Image : Africacultures

Distribution complète
Plus sur Oumarou Ganda
Filmographie
Ouvrir