Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Perdre Mario (VOF)
Location
Fernand-Seguin screening room
Date
February 17th, 2022
Duration
84 min
Cycle
New releases

The mission of the Centre d'art et d'essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) is to primary program Quebec-made documentaries and independent fiction, as well as international documentaries, animated and foreign films, while encouraging opportunities for meetings between the public and the artists. Its programming is presented in conjunction with the Cinémathèque québécoise’s under the label Nouveauté.

Perdre Mario
Directed by
Carl Leblanc
Language
VOF
Origins
Quebec
Year
2021
Duration
84 min
Genre
Documentary
Format
Digital
Synopsis

On May 22, 2015, Mario shot a bullet in his head. Committing one of 1200 suicides in Quebec that year, he left his family and friends with many questions and deep sadness, the very same one that assails anyone brutally left grieving by a volontary and irremediable departure. Mario was the best and longest friend of the filmmaker of this film. In this documentary, the latter describe and dissect what preceded Mario’s ultimate move, as well as demonstrate the dismay of his close group of friends. By extension, this is the narrative of a troubling experience that everyone of us has unfortunately been through or will go through.

Perdre Mario

Carl Leblanc

Mid-90s, Carl Leblanc founds AD HOC FILMS. With his friend and colleague Luc Cyr, he produces and/or directs around fifteen documentaries including Canada by night (that won the Gémeaux du meilleur documentaire price in 1999), Le cœur d’Auschwitz (finalist for the Jutra 2011) and two docuseries including La boîte noire (the won the Gémeaux de la meilleure réalisation and the Gémeaux de la meilleure musique originale in 2003). For more than ten years, he navigates between documentary filmmaking (Nation : huits-clos avec Lucien Bouchard and Le commun des mortels) and novel writing (Le personnage secondaire, Artéfact, Fruits). Perdre Mario is his fourth feature length documentary.

Explore

+5

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Filmography

  • PERDRE MARIO, 2021, 82 minutes, documentary
  • LE COMMUN DES MORTELS, 2017, 82 minutes, documentary
  • ÊTRE AILLEURS: L’ANNÉE QUÉBÉCOISE DE M. JUPPÉ, 2016, 52 minutes, documentary
  • NATION: UN HUI-CLOS AVEC LUCIEN BOUCHARD, 2014, 83 minutes, documentary
  • LE CŒUR D’AUSCHWITZ, 2010, 85 minutes, documentary
  • DIEU ET NOUS, 2009, 4 X 52 minutes, docuseries
  • LES FEUX DE LA SAINT-JEAN, 2005, 54 minutes, documentary
  • L’OTAGE, 2004, 78 minutes, documentary
  • 15 NOVEMBRE 76, 20h40, 2004, 54 minutes, documentary
  • THÉRÈSE ET ALBERT, 2003, 54 minutes, documentary
  • LA BOÎTE NOIRE, 2002 et 2005, 26 X 30 minutes, docuseries
  • LA FIN DU CANADA, 2002, 54 minutes, documentary
  • L’EAU À LA BOUCHE, 2001, 53 minutes, documentary
  • ARCHIVES DE L’ÂME, 2001, 54 minutes, documentary
  • LA BELLE PROVINCE, 2000, 54 minutes, documentary
  • MOURIR EN FRANCE, 2000, 54 minutes, documentary
  • MON FRÈRE RICHARD, 1999, 54 minutes, documentary
  • CANADA BY NIGHT, 1999, 54 minutes, documentary
  • LE CHEMIN DU ROY, 1997, 54 minutes, documentary
  • LETTRE À LUCIENNE, 1996, 52 minutes, documentary
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Perdre Mario (VOF)
Lieu
Salle Fernand-Seguin
Date
Le 17 février 2022
Durée
84 min
Cycles
Nouveautés

Le Centre d’art et d’essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) a pour mission de programmer prioritairement des documentaires et des fictions indépendantes québécoises, mais également des documentaires internationaux, des films d’animation et des films étrangers sous-titrés en français en privilégiant les occasions de rencontres entre le public et les artisans des films. Sa programmation est présentée conjointement à celle de la Cinémathèque québécoise sous la mention Nouveauté.

Perdre Mario
Réalisé par
Carl Leblanc
Langue
VOF
Pays
Québec
Année
2021
Durée
84 min
Genre
Documentaire
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

Le 22 mai 2015, Mario s’est logé une balle de calibre 22 dans la tête. En commettant ainsi l’un des 1200 suicides qui se sont déroulés au Québec cette année-là, il a plongé ses amis et ses proches dans un tourbillon de questionnements et de profonde tristesse, celui-là même qui assaille toute personne laissée brutalement dans le deuil par un départ volontaire et irrémédiable. Mario était le meilleur et le plus vieil ami du réalisateur de ce film. Dans ce documentaire, celui-ci décrit et décortique ce qui a précédé le geste ultime de Mario, de même qu’il démonte la mécanique du désarroi vécu par sa bande d’amis tissés serrés. Par extension, c’est le récit d’une expérience troublante que chacun de nous a malheureusement vécu ou vivra.

Perdre Mario

Carl Leblanc

Au milieu des années 90, Carl Leblanc fonde AD HOC FILMS. Avec son ami et collègue Luc Cyr, il produit et/ou réalise une quinzaine de documentaires dont Canada by night (prix Gémeaux du meilleur documentaire en 1999), Le coeur d’Auschwitz (finaliste aux prix Jutra 2011) et deux séries documentaires dont La boîte noire (prix Gémeaux de la meilleure réalisation et de la meilleure musique originale en 2003). Depuis plus de dix ans, il alterne entre le documentaire (Nation : huis-clos avec Lucien Bouchard et Le commun des mortels) et le métier d’écrivain (Le personnage secondaire, Artéfact, Fruits). Perdre Mario est son quatrième long métrage documentaire.

Explorer

+5

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Photo : Les Films du 3 Mars

Filmographie

  • PERDRE MARIO, 2021
  • LE COMMUN DES MORTELS, 2017
  • ÊTRE AILLEURS: L’ANNÉE QUÉBÉCOISE DE M. JUPPÉ, 2016
  • NATION: UN HUI-CLOS AVEC LUCIEN BOUCHARD, 2014
  • LE CŒUR D’AUSCHWITZ, 2010
  • DIEU ET NOUS, 2009
  • LES FEUX DE LA SAINT-JEAN, 2005
  • L’OTAGE, 2004
  • 15 NOVEMBRE 76, 20h40
  • THÉRÈSE ET ALBERT, 2003
  • LA BOÎTE NOIRE, 2002 et 2005
  • LA FIN DU CANADA, 2002
  • L’EAU À LA BOUCHE, 2001
  • ARCHIVES DE L’ÂME, 2001
  • LA BELLE PROVINCE, 2000
  • MOURIR EN FRANCE, 2000
  • MON FRÈRE RICHARD, 1999
  • CANADA BY NIGHT, 1999
  • LE CHEMIN DU ROY, 1997
  • LETTRE À LUCIENNE, 1996
Ouvrir