Skip to contentSkip to navigation
The Brood (VOA)
Location
Main screening room
Date
December 7th, 2021
Admission
16 + (Horror)
Duration
90 min
Cycle
Cronenberg: Through a Distorting Mirror

David Cronenberg has created a multidimensional universe in which he insistently questions the limits of every facet of the human condition – physical, moral and existential. This program extends from his early days in Montreal, where he made exploitation flicks produced by Cinépix (Rabid, Shivers), to Maps to the Stars, a scathing take on the California jet-set lifestyle. A creepy parallel universe emerges through films like The Fly, which catapulted him to mainstream success, and Existenz, in which it seems perfectly normal to plug an organic game console into one’s spine. This is inside-out cinema, in which unique beings constantly show us funhouse-mirror reflections of our world. This program includes all of Cronenberg’s features, most of them in 35 mm.

The Brood
Directed by
David Cronenberg
Language
English version
Actors
Art Hindle, Oliver Reed, Samantha Eggar
Origins
Canada
Year
1979
Duration
90 min
Genre
Horror, science-fiction
Rating
16 + (Horror)
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

A psychotherapist experiments with extreme methods where patients' discomforts are embodied in their bodies. One of his patients gives birth to mutant twins, with terrible consequences.

The Brood
Awards

David Cronenberg

David Paul Cronenberg is a Canadian film director, screenwriter, and actor. He is one of the principal originators of what is commonly known as the body horror genre, with his films exploring visceral bodily transformation, infection, technology, and the intertwining of the psychological with the physical. In the first third of his career he explored these themes mostly through horror and science fiction films such as Scanners (1981) and Videodrome (1983), although his work has since expanded beyond these genres. Cronenberg's films have polarized critics and audiences alike; he has earned critical acclaim and has sparked controversy for his depictions of gore and violence. The Village Voice called him "the most audacious and challenging narrative director in the English-speaking world". His films have won numerous awards, including, for Crash, the Special Jury Prize at the 1996 Cannes Film Festival, a unique award that is distinct from the Jury Prize as it is not given annually, but only at the request of the official jury, who in this case gave the award "for originality, for daring, and for audacity".
(Wikipedia)

Explore

Full cast
Au-delà de cette anecdote, The Brood marque un point de non-retour organique dans la filmographie du cinéaste, et reste sans doute son œuvre la plus terrifiante, au premier degré, car elle transforme un sentiment naturel et positif , l'instinct maternel, en véritable cauchemar contre-nature.
Olivier Père (2002)
À propos de David Cronenberg
Filmography | director
Filmography | actor
Studies
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
The Brood (VOA)
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 7 décembre 2021
Admission
16+ (horreur)
Durée
90 min
Cycles
Cronenberg : au risque du repli

David Cronenberg a créé un monde aux dimensions multiples, posant inlassablement la question des limites de la condition humaine, qu’elle soit physique, morale, existentielle. Cette programmation est une traversée depuis les débuts montréalais dans le cinéma d’exploitation produit par Cinépix (Rabid, Shivers) jusqu’à Maps to the stars, brûlot sur le mode de vie californien actuel au sein de la jet-set. Un univers à part se met en place, de La mouche, film marquant une ascension vers un large public, jusqu’à Existenz, où brancher un tuyau de chair dans une fente dorsale parait aller de soi. C’est un cinéma du repli intérieur, où les êtres singuliers qui le composent ne cessent de montrer le monde sous un miroir déformant. Le présent programme rassemble tous les longs métrages du cinéaste, pour la plupart en 35 mm.

The Brood
Réalisé par
David Cronenberg
Langue
VOA
Mettant en vedette
Art Hindle, Oliver Reed, Samantha Eggar
Pays
Canada
Année
1979
Durée
90 min
Genre
Horreur, science-fiction
Visa
16 + (horreur)
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

Un psychothérapeute expérimente des méthodes extrêmes où les malaises des patients s’incarnent dans leurs corps. L’une de ses patientes donne naissance à des jumeaux mutants, avec de terribles conséquences.

The Brood
Prix et reconnaissances

David Cronenberg

David Cronenberg est un réalisateur, acteur, producteur et scénariste canadien. Il est l'un des principaux initiateurs de ce que l'on appelle communément le genre body horror, ses films explorant la transformation viscérale du corps, l'infection, la technologie et l'imbrication du psychologique et du physique. Dans le premier tiers de sa carrière, il a exploré ces thèmes principalement à travers des films d'horreur et de science-fiction tels que Scanners (1981) et Videodrome (1983), bien que son travail se soit depuis étendu au-delà de ces genres. Les films de Cronenberg ont polarisé les critiques et le public; il a été acclamé par la critique et a suscité la controverse pour ses représentations du gore et de la violence. Ses films ont remporté de nombreuses récompenses, notamment le prix spécial du jury au Festival de Cannes 1996 pour Crash, une récompense unique qui se distingue du prix du jury car elle n'est pas décernée chaque année, mais uniquement à la demande du jury officiel, qui, dans ce cas, a décerné le prix "pour son originalité, son audace et sa témérité".

(Wikipédia)

Explorer

Distribution complète
Au-delà de cette anecdote, The Brood marque un point de non-retour organique dans la filmographie du cinéaste, et reste sans doute son œuvre la plus terrifiante, au premier degré, car elle transforme un sentiment naturel et positif , l'instinct maternel, en véritable cauchemar contre-nature.
Olivier Père (2002)
À propos de David Cronenberg
Filmographie | réalisateur
Filmographie | acteur
Formation
Ouvrir