Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Anselm
Monday, March 4th, 2024
at 15:30
Date
Monday, March 4th, 2024
at 15:30
Thursday, March 7th, 2024
at 15:30
Location
Fernand-Seguin screening room
Date
January 5th - March 7th, 2024
Duration
93 min
Cycle
New releases

The mission of the Centre d'art et essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) is to primary program Quebec-made documentaries and independent fiction, as well as international documentaries, animated and foreign films, while encouraging opportunities for meetings between the public and the artists. Its programming is presented in conjunction with the Cinémathèque québécoise’s under the label New releases.

This film will be presented in 3D

Anselm
Directed by
Wim Wenders
Language
German with French subtitles
Actors
Anselm Kiefer, Anton Wenders, Daniel Kiefer
Origins
Germany
Year
2023
Duration
93 min
Genre
Documentary
Format
Digital
Synopsis

In Anselm, Wim Wenders creates a portrait of Anselm Kiefer, one of the most innovative and important painters and sculptors of our time. Shot in 3D and 6K-resolution, the film presents a cinematic experience of the artist’s work which explores human existence and the cyclical nature of history, inspired by literature, poetry, philosophy, science, mythology and religion.

Anselm
This unique cinematic experience lets the audience dive deep into Anselm Kiefer’s work. It reveals the painter’s life path, inspiration and creative process by exploring his fascination with myth and history. Past and present are interwoven to diffuse the line between film and painting. Shot over the course of more than two years in stunning 3D, Wim Wenders creates a unique portrait of one of the greatest contemporary artists, allowing us to be completely immersed in the world of Anselm Kiefer.

Wim Wenders

Wim Wenders came to international prominence as one of the pioneers of German Cinema during the 1970s and is now considered one of the most important figures in contemporary film. In addition to his many prize-winning feature films, his work as a scriptwriter, director, producer, photographer and author also encompasses an abundance of innovative documentary films. He has been honored with countless awards at festivals around the world, including the Golden Lion at the international Film Festival in Venice for The State of Things (1982); the Golden Palm at the Cannes Festival and the BAFTA Film Award for Paris, Texas (1984); the Director’s Prize in Cannes for Wings of Desire (1987); and the Silver Bear for The Million Dollar Hotel (2000) at the Berlin International Film Festival. His documentary films Buena Vista Social Club (1999), Pina (2011), and The Salt of the Earth (2014) have all been nominated for Oscars.

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Anselm
lundi 4 mars 2024
à 15:30
Date
lundi 4 mars 2024
à 15:30
jeudi 7 mars 2024
à 15:30
Lieu
Salle Fernand-Seguin
Date
Du 5 janvier au 7 mars 2024
Durée
93 min
Cycles
Nouveautés

Le Centre d’art et essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) a pour mission de programmer prioritairement des documentaires et des fictions indépendantes québécoises, mais également des documentaires internationaux, des films d’animation et des films étrangers sous-titrés en français en privilégiant les occasions de rencontres entre le public et les artisans des films. Sa programmation est présentée conjointement à celle de la Cinémathèque québécoise sous la mention Nouveautés.

Ce film sera présenté en 3D

Anselm
Réalisé par
Wim Wenders
Langue
Allemand avec sous-titres français
Mettant en vedette
Anselm Kiefer, Anton Wenders, Daniel Kiefer
Pays
Allemagne
Année
2023
Durée
93 min
Genre
Documentaire
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

Une expérience cinématographique unique qui éclaire l’oeuvre d’un artiste et révèle son parcours de vie, ses inspirations, son processus créatif, et sa fascination pour le mythe et l’histoire. Le passé et le présent s’entrelacent pour brouiller la frontière entre film et peinture, permettant de s’immerger complétement dans le monde de l’un des plus grands artistes contemporains, Anselm Kiefer.

Anselm
Cette expérience cinématographique exceptionnelle invite le public à plonger au plus profond de l’œuvre d’Anselm Kiefer. Elle révèle le parcours du peintre, son inspiration et son processus créatif en explorant sa fascination pour les mythes et l’histoire. Le passé et le présent s’entremêlent pour brouiller la frontière entre le film et la peinture. Tourné en 3D pendant plus de deux ans, le film de Wim Wenders dresse un portrait unique en son genre de l’un des plus grands artistes contemporains en nous permettant une immersion totale dans l’univers d’Anselm Kiefer.

Wim Wenders

Wim Wenders s’est fait connaître au niveau international comme l’un des pionniers du nouveau cinéma allemand dans les années 1970 et est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’une des figures les plus importantes du cinéma contemporain. Outre ses nombreux longs métrages primés, son travail en tant que scénariste, réalisateur, producteur, photographe et auteur comprend également une multitude de films documentaires innovants. Il a été récompensé par d’innombrables prix dans des festivals du monde entier, notamment le Lion d’or au Festival international de Venise pour L’État des choses (1982), la Palme d’or au Festival de Cannes et le BAFTA Film Award pour Paris, Texas (1984), le Prix de la mise en scène à Cannes pour Les Ailes du désir (1987) et l’Ours d’argent pour The Million Dollar Hotel (2000) au Festival international du film de Berlin. Ses documentaires Buena Vista Social Club (1999), Pina (2011) et Le Sel de la terre (2014) ont tous été nommés aux Oscars.