Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Fantastica (VOF)
Location
Main screening room
Date
July 24th, 2021
Duration
110 min
Cycle
Music!

Our summer cycle will be festive or not. Sound and image, song and dance, instrument and breathing, strings and gestures: so many possible combinations to express what cinema and music can achieve and express together. Musicals, concert films, catchy music. Jazz, classical, contemporary, disco, punk... Revolt and enchantment, distress and emphasis, joy and rhythm, melancholy and bass, laughter and stridency: diverse expressions characterizing cinema and music's historical alliance, will definitely make us fly, dream, dance!

From the 30's to the present day and across all possible genres, this cycle aims to open our minds at a time when we most need it. The first week of July will be an eventful one, as the cycle will open with several evenings in cabaret mode, where we will present for the first time concert films produced in Quebec during the confinement, with the participation of major artists of the current music scene: Klô Pelgag, Marie Davidson and Godspeed You! Black Emperor.

A musical which opened the 1980 Cannes Film Festival

Fantastica
Directed by
Gilles Carle
Language
French
Actors
Carole Laure, Lewis Furey, Serge Reggiani, Claudine Auger, John Vernon
Origins
Quebec
Year
1980
Duration
110 min
Genre
Musical
Rating
G
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

A musical comedy troupe travels through the province. Lorca is the star and her lover, the composer and director of the troupe. The meeting with an old hermit allows Lorca to reconcile his aspirations as an artist and a woman.

Fantastica
Awards

Gilles Carle

Gilles Carle was a Quebec graphic artist, director, screenwriter, editor and producer. He joined the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) in 1960, first as a documentary filmmaker, then as a screenwriter, before directing several documentaries, including Percé on the Rocks. In 1965, he made his first feature-length fiction film, La vie heureuse de Léopold Z., although he had only been authorized to make a documentary. In 1966, after being reprimanded by his employer for turning his documentary project into a feature film, he left the NFB for Onyx Productions, with whom he wrote and directed Le viol d'une jeune fille douce (1968), Red (1970) and Les mâles (1971). Gilles Carle made his last feature films in the 1990s.

Explore

Full Cast
+3
About Gilles Carle
Filmography of Gilles Carle
Open
June 18th, 2024
Jacques and November
June 18th, 2024
Hour of the Wolf

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Fantastica (VOF)
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 24 juillet 2021
Durée
110 min
Cycles
Musique!

Notre cycle d’été sera festif ou ne le sera pas. Le son et l’image, le chant et la danse, l’instrument et le souffle, les cordes et le mouvement : autant de combinaisons possibles pour exprimer ce que le cinéma et la musique peuvent réaliser et exprimer ensemble. De la comédie musicale, des films concerts, des musiques entêtantes. Jazz, classique, contemporain, disco, punk… La révolte et l’enchantement, la détresse et l’emphase, la joie et le rythme, la mélancolie et la basse, le rire et la stridence : l’expression multiforme caractérisant l’alliance historique du cinéma et de la musique nous fera définitivement planer, rêver, danser !

Des années 1930 à aujourd’hui et à travers tous les genres possibles, ce cycle vise à ouvrir les esprits tel un appel d’air au moment où il en faut, plus que jamais. La première semaine de juillet sera doublement événementielle puisqu’à l’ouverture du cycle s’ajouteront plusieurs soirées en mode cabaret où nous montrerons pour la première fois des films concerts produits au Québec pendant le confinement, avec le concours d’artistes majeurs de la scène actuelle : Klô Pelgag, Marie Davidson et Godspeed You! Black Emperor.

Une comédie musicale ayant ouvert le Festival de Cannes 1980

Fantastica
Réalisé par
Gilles Carle
Langue
VOF
Mettant en vedette
Carole Laure, Lewis Furey, Serge Reggiani, Claudine Auger, John Vernon
Pays
Québec
Année
1980
Durée
110 min
Genre
Comédie musicale
Visa
G
Format
35 mm
Synopsis

Une troupe de comédie musicale se déplace à travers la province. Lorca en est la vedette et son amant, le compositeur et directeur de la troupe. La rencontre d'un vieil ermite permet à Lorca de concilier ses aspirations d'artiste et de femme.

Fantastica
Prix et reconnaissances

Gilles Carle

Gilles Carle est un graphiste plasticien, réalisateur, scénariste, monteur et producteur québécois né le 31 juillet 1928 à Maniwaki et mort le 28 novembre 2009. Il joint l'Office national du film du Canada (ONF), en 1960, où il est d'abord documentaliste, puis scénariste avant de réaliser plusieurs documentaires dont Percé on the Rocks. En 1965, il y signe son premier long métrage de fiction, La vie heureuse de Léopold Z., alors qu'on ne l'avait autorisé qu'à réaliser un documentaire. En 1966, semoncé par son employeur pour avoir transformé en long métrage ce projet de documentaire, il quitte l'ONF pour les Productions Onyx avec lesquelles il scénarise et réalise Le viol d'une jeune fille douce (en 1968), Red (en 1970) et Les mâles (en 1971). Gilles Carle réalise ses derniers longs métrages de fiction au cours des années 1990. (Wikipédia)

Photo : Fondation Maison Gilles-Carle

Explorer

Distribution complète
+3
À propos de Gilles Carle
Filmographie de Gilles Carle
Ouvrir