Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Im Lauf der Zeit (VOSTA)
Location
Main screening room
Date
May 16th, 2022
Duration
174 min
Cycle
Wim Wenders - Cities and Roads

For all sorts of reasons, we are never done with Wim Wenders’ cinema and his way of apprehending narratively (sometimes with the complicity of the writer Peter Handke) and photogenically (by his lucky star) the 1970s, especially in Germany and the US. Seizing the opportunity of a new series of accessible restorations, we present several of his films that were commonly requested for years, including Alice in den Städten, with music by Can, the legendary Krautrock band. A few legendary films from the 80s and 90s that extend the plastic themes and concerns of his early era will also be shown.

Kings of the Road
Directed by
Wim Wenders
Language
English and German with English subtitles
Actors
Rüdiger Vogler, Hanns Zischler, Lisa Kreuzer
Origins
West Germany
Year
1976
Duration
174 min
Genre
Drama
Format
Digital
Synopsis

Kings of the Road is about a friendship between two men: Bruno, a.k.a. King of the Road, who repairs film projectors and travels along the inner German border in his truck, and the psychologist Robert, a.k.a. Kamikaze, who is fleeing from his own past.

Kings of the Road

Wim Wenders

After studying medicine and philosophy, Wim Wenders left his hometown of Düsseldorf for Paris, where he forged his film culture in the effervescence of the 1960s. He then studied cinema in Munich and moved on to directing, enrolling in the New German Cinema movement. Noticed in Europe, his 1970s films saw the emergence of his favorite themes and affinities (American cinema, road movies, music). With The American Friend (1977), the filmmaker gained notoriety in the United States and began to work there. There he directed the famous Paris, Texas (1984), before returning to Germany to sign another flagship film of his career, Wings of Desire (1987). In addition to his work of fiction, he has directed several documentaries, particularly on artistic creation: music (Buena Vista Social Club), dance (Pina) or photography (The Salt of the Earth), a discipline that the filmmaker also exercises himself.

Photo : Unifrance

Explore

Made in a few weeks during the summer of 1975, this film, shot in a very aesthetic black and white (camera: Robby Müller) and with a simple and atmospheric rock n' roll soundtrack, is also a film about the difficult situation of post-war German cinema.
About Kings of the Road
Full cast
About Wim Wenders
Filmography
Wim Wenders in 4 Minutes - Blow up - ARTE
Wim Wenders' masterclass (Paris, Texas) | ARTE Cinéma
Open
December 2nd, 2022
Les muses orphelines
December 2nd, 2022
Il divo

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Im Lauf der Zeit (VOSTA)
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 16 mai 2022
Durée
174 min
Cycles
Wim Wenders - Villes et routes

Pour toutes sortes de raisons, nous n’en finissons jamais avec le cinéma de Wim Wenders et sa manière d’appréhender narrativement (parfois avec la complicité de l’écrivain Peter Handke) et photogéniquement (par sa bonne étoile) les années 1970, en particulier en Allemagne et aux États-Unis. Saisissant l’opportunité de nouvelles restaurations accessibles, nous présentons plusieurs de ses films qui nous sont couramment demandés depuis des années, dont Alice in den Städten, avec une musique de Can, le légendaire groupe Krautrock. Quelques films mythiques des années 1980-90 qui prolongent les thématiques et préoccupations plastiques de sa première époque seront aussi montrés.

Kings of the Road
Réalisé par
Wim Wenders
Langue
VOSTA
Mettant en vedette
Rüdiger Vogler, Hanns Zischler, Lisa Kreuzer
Pays
RFA
Année
1976
Durée
174 min
Genre
Drame
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

Kings of the Road raconte l'histoire d'une amitié entre deux hommes : Bruno, alias le roi de la route, qui répare des projecteurs de films et voyage dans son camion le long de la frontière intérieure allemande, et le psychologue Robert, alias Kamikaze, qui fuit son propre passé.

Kings of the Road

Wim Wenders

Après des études de médecine et de philosophie, Wim Wenders quitte sa ville natale de Düsseldorf pour Paris, où il forge sa culture cinéphile dans l’effervescence des années 1960. Puis il étudie le cinéma à Munich et passe à la réalisation, s’inscrivant dans la mouvance du Nouveau cinéma allemand. Remarqués en Europe, ses films des années 1970 voient émerger ses thèmes de prédilection et ses affinités filmiques (le cinéma américain, le road movie, la musique). Avec L’ami américain (1977), le cinéaste gagne en notoriété aux États-Unis et commence à y travailler. Il y réalise le célèbre Paris, Texas (1984), avant de repartir en Allemagne pour signer un autre film phare de sa carrière, Les ailes du désir (1987). Outre son travail de fiction, il réalise plusieurs documentaires, notamment sur la création artistique : la musique (Buena Vista Social Club), la danse (Pina) ou la photographie (Le sel de la terre), discipline que le cinéaste exerce par ailleurs lui-même.

Photo : Unifrance

Explorer

Tourné en quelques semaines pendant l'été 1975 dans un magnifique noir et blanc (Robby Müller est à la caméra) et doté d'une bande-son atmosphérique, Kings of the Road aborde la difficile situation du cinéma allemand d'après-guerre.
À propos de Kings of the Road
Distribution complète
À propos de Wim Wenders
Filmographie
Wim Wenders en 4 Minutes - Blow up - ARTE
Leçon de cinéma de Wim Wenders (Paris, Texas) | ARTE Cinéma
Ouvrir