Skip to contentSkip to navigation
L’avventura (Italian, English, Greek with English subtitles)
Location
Main screening room
Date
June 15th, 2024
Duration
144 min
Cycle
Islands of perdition

Remote and mysterious, whether hostile or enticing, infernal microcosms or dreamed worlds, islands have long captivated the imaginations of filmmakers. By their very isolated nature, they often serve as metaphoric or literal settings of loss and introspection, inviting exploration and oblivion. Enclosed by water, they provide ideal backdrops for intimate dramas and intense adventures, their geography shaping the narrative. As many real-world islands face existential threats, we invite you to explore a few fictional isles where cinema has found its enchanting refuge along the shore.

Winner of the Jury Prize, 1960 Cannes Film Festival

L’avventura
Directed by
Michelangelo Antonioni
Language
Italian, English, Greek with English subtitles
Actors
Monica Vitti, Lea Massari, Gabriele Ferzetti
Origins
Italy, France
Year
1960
Duration
144 min
Genre
Drama, mystery, romance
Format
Digital
Synopsis

On a cruise to the Aeolian Islands, a young couple - Anna and Sandro - and a few friends, including Claudia, disembark on a rocky islet. A conversation between Anna and Sandro about their marital future goes awry. When the group wants to leave, Anna is nowhere to be found. The search for her brings Claudia and Sandro closer together.

L’avventura
Awards

Michelangelo Antonioni

Michelangelo Antonioni is an Italian film director and screenwriter. He received numerous awards, including an Honorary Academy Award in 1995 and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 1997 Venice Film Festival. He stands among the select few directors, alongside Robert Altman, Henri-Georges Clouzot, and Jean-Luc Godard, who have achieved the remarkable feat of winning the top three awards at the premier European film festivals held in Cannes, Berlin, and Venice. A key figure in modern cinema since his debut in 1950 with Story of a Love Affair, a film that marked the end of neorealism and the beginning of a new era in Italian cinema, Antonioni wrote some of the most intense and profound pages of 1960s and 1970s cinema, particularly with his famous Trilogy on Modernity and Its Discontent, consisting of the three black-and-white films L'Avventura (1960), La Notte (1961), and L'Eclisse (1962), all starring his then-companion, Monica Vitti. With his formally innovative works that renew cinematic dramaturgy, he is considered the author of the first films to tackle modern themes of incommunicability, alienation, and existential malaise.

Explore

Antonioni’s film changed my perception of cinema, and the world around me, and made both seem limitless.
Martin Scorsese
2007
Cast
Observations on Film Art: The Restraint of L’AVVENTURA
Piers Handling on L'AVVENTURA | TIFF 2018
About Michelangelo Antonioni
Selected filmography
Michelangelo Antonioni en 5 minutes - Blow up - ARTE
The Existential Cinema of Michelangelo Antonioni
Michelangelo Antonioni receiving an Honorary Oscar®
Le cinéaste Michelangelo Antonioni en 1961, à propos de son style de cinéma
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
L’avventura (VOSTA)
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 15 juin 2024
Durée
144 min
Cycles
Îles de perdition

Lointaines et mystérieuses, hostiles ou voluptueuses, microcosmes infernaux ou mondes rêvés, les îles ont toujours éveillé l’imaginaire des cinéastes. Isolées par nature, elles sont bien souvent des lieux de perdition, de façon métaphorique ou littérale, propices à l’errance, à l’introspection et à l’oubli. Circonscrites par les eaux, elles sont le décor idéal de huis clos et d’aventures intenses où la mise en scène se plie aux contraintes géographiques. Alors que bien des îles réelles sont aujourd’hui en voie de perdition, nous vous proposons de revisiter quelques îles de fiction sur le rivage desquelles le cinéma s’est merveilleusement échoué.

Lauréat du Prix du jury, Festival de Cannes 1960

L’avventura
Réalisé par
Michelangelo Antonioni
Langue
VOSTA
Mettant en vedette
Monica Vitti, Lea Massari, Gabriele Ferzetti
Pays
Italie, France
Année
1960
Durée
144 min
Genre
Drame, mystère, film romantique
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

En croisière dans les îles Éoliennes, un jeune couple formé par Anna et Sandro et quelques-uns de leurs amis, notamment Claudia, débarquent sur un îlot rocailleux. Une conversation entre Anna et Sandro sur leur avenir conjugal tourne mal. Lorsque le groupe veut repartir, Anna demeure parfaitement introuvable. Les recherches sur l’île escarpée rapprochent alors Claudia et Sandro.

L’avventura
Prix et reconnaissances

Michelangelo Antonioni

Michelangelo Antonioni est un réalisateur et scénariste du cinéma italien. Il a obtenu de nombreuses récompenses, dont l'Oscar d’honneur en 1995 et le Lion d'or pour l’ensemble de sa carrière à la Mostra de Venise 1997. Il est un des rares réalisateurs, avec Robert Altman, Henri-Georges Clouzot et Jean-Luc Godard, à avoir remporté les trois plus hautes récompenses des principaux festivals européens que sont Cannes, Berlin et Venise. Auteur de référence du cinéma moderne dès ses débuts en 1950 avec Chronique d'un amour, un film qui marque la fin du néoréalisme et la naissance d'une nouvelle ère du cinéma italien, Antonioni a écrit certaines des pages les plus intenses et les plus profondes du cinéma des années 1960 et 1970, en particulier grâce à sa célèbre Trilogie de l'incommunicabilité, composée des trois films en noir et blanc L'avventura (1960), La notte (1961) et L'eclisse (1962), mettant tous trois en vedette sa compagne de l’époque, Monica Vitti. Avec ses œuvres formellement novatrices qui renouvellent la dramaturgie cinématographique, il est considéré comme l'auteur des premiers films qui traitent des thèmes modernes de l'incommunicabilité, de l'aliénation et du malaise existentiel.

Explorer

Mon idée part de l'observation d'un fait : nous vivons aujourd'hui dans une période d'extrême instabilité, instabilité politique, morale, sociale, même physique. Le monde est instable autour de nous et à l'intérieur de nous. Je fais un film sur l'instabilité des sentiments, sur le mystère des sentiments.
Antonioni
1960
Distribution
Observations on Film Art: The Restraint of L’AVVENTURA
Piers Handling on L'AVVENTURA | TIFF 2018
À propos de Michelangelo Antonioni
Filmographie partielle
Michelangelo Antonioni en 5 minutes - Blow up - ARTE
The Existential Cinema of Michelangelo Antonioni
Michelangelo Antonioni receiving an Honorary Oscar®
Le cinéaste Michelangelo Antonioni en 1961, à propos de son style de cinéma
Ouvrir