Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Viking (French version)
Tuesday, July 30th, 2024
at 18:00
Date
Tuesday, July 30th, 2024
at 18:00
Location
Main screening room
Date
July 30th, 2024
Duration
104 min
Cycle
Science fiction

Science fiction pushes the boundaries, explores the improbable, and envisions the future of humanity. It also exposes us to extravagant visual effects and the inventive power of cinema, reflecting our deepest fantasies. In cinema, science fiction is immersive, creating worlds suddenly within our reach. This summer, over one hundred films from the history of cinema will allow us to witness this!

Winner of 11 Prix Iris in 2023, including Best Film, Best Director, and Best Screenplay

Viking
Directed by
Stéphane Lafleur
Language
French
Actors
Steve Laplante, Larissa Corriveau, Fabiola N. Aladin
Origins
Québec
Year
2022
Duration
104 min
Genre
Sci-fi, drama
Format
Digital
Synopsis

The Viking Company is recruiting volunteers to collaborate on the first manned mission to Mars. The goal is to form a B-team of alter egos who will live the adventure in parallel, behind closed doors on Earth, in the hope of remotely solving the interpersonal problems encountered by the five real astronauts who will soon land on the red planet. The film tells the story of how David, a physical education teacher, seizes this opportunity to rekindle his dream of becoming an astronaut and perhaps make a difference. Somewhere between unlikely science fiction and modern allegory, Viking is a dramatic comedy about the gap between our aspirations and reality.

Viking
Awards

Stéphane Lafleur

Stéphane Lafleur is a filmmaker, editor, and musician. His first feature film, Continental, a Film Without Guns (2007), premiered at the Venice Film Festival and was shown at several other international festivals. It won numerous awards, including Best Canadian First Feature Film at TIFF and Best Film at the Namur International Francophone Film Festival (Bayard d’Or). Four years later, he directed Familiar Grounds, which won the Ecumenical Jury Prize at the Berlin International Film Festival, Best Film at the Los Angeles Film Festival, and the Grand Jury Prize at the Taipei Film Festival. You're Sleeping Nicole, his third feature film, was selected for the Directors' Fortnight at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival. His latest film, Viking, premiered at TIFF in 2022 and won 11 awards at the Gala Québec Cinéma, including Best Film.

Photo : Caroline Hayeur

Explore

Cast
About Stéphane Lafleur
Filmography
Open
June 27th, 2024
In the Shadow of the Pines + Past Lives
June 30th, 2024
Pacifiction

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Viking (VOF)
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 25 mars 2023
Durée
104 min
Cycles
Prix collégial du cinéma québécois

L'occasion nous est donnée de montrer quelques films qui ont marqué le cinéma québécois au cours des derniers mois. En attendant de connaitre le récipiendaire du Prix collégial du cinéma québécois, découvrons ou redécouvrons les récents films de Monia Chokri, Pascal Plante, Ariane Louis-Seize, Henry Bernadet et Jacquelyn Mills. Un programme de courts métrages nous permettra aussi de jeter un coup d'œil sur la relève.

13 nominations aux Prix Écrans canadiens !

Viking
Réalisé par
Stéphane Lafleur
Langue
VOF
Mettant en vedette
Steve Laplante, Larissa Corriveau, Fabiola N. Aladin
Pays
Québec
Année
2022
Durée
104 min
Genre
Science-fiction, drame
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

La Société Viking recrute des volontaires pour collaborer à la première mission habitée sur Mars. L’objectif est de former une équipe B d'alter ego qui vivra l’aventure en parallèle, en huis clos sur Terre, dans l'espoir de régler à distance les problèmes interpersonnels rencontrés par les cinq véritables astronautes qui se poseront bientôt sur la planète rouge. Le film raconte comment David, professeur d'éducation physique, saisit cette opportunité pour raviver son rêve de devenir astronaute et peut-être faire une différence. Quelque part entre la science-fiction improbable et l'allégorie moderne, Viking est une comédie dramatique sur les décalages qui existent entre nos aspirations et la réalité.

Viking

Stéphane Lafleur

Stéphane Lafleur est à la fois cinéaste, monteur et musicien. Son premier long métrage, Continental, un film sans fusil (2007) , est présenté en première mondiale au Festival de Venise et est par la suite sélectionné dans de grands festivals internationaux et obtiendra plusieurs récompenses dont le prix du meilleur premier film canadien à Toronto et celui du Meilleur film au Festival international du film francophone de Namur (Bayard d’Or). Quatre ans plus tard, il réalise En terrains connus qui remporte le Prix du jury oecuménique à Berlin ainsi que le prix du Meilleur film au Festival de Los Angeles et le Grand Prix du jury au Festival de Taipei. Tu dors Nicole, son troisième long métrage, est sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs du Festival de Cannes 2014. Films du Québec.

Photo : Caroline Hayeur

Explorer

Distribution complète
À propos de Stéphane Lafleur
Filmographie
Ouvrir

Présenté en collaboration avec