Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Johnny Guitar (VOSTF)
Location
Main screening room
Date
August 14th, 2022
Duration
110 min
Cycle
The essentials

Making lists is an activity moviegoers are fond of. Every year, the same ritual: compilation of the ten best films, with comparative analyses, debates, heated discussions. But what about the ultimate list of the most outstanding films in the history of cinema? That is to say, those films that must be seen, those that have forever transformed the art of cinema, but also our way of seeing a culture, of understanding the world as well as our own lives? This program aims to tackle this challenge with nearly eighty films, produced between 1916 and 1960, while waiting for your lists!

Johnny Guitar
Directed by
Nicholas Ray
Language
VOSTF
Origins
USA
Year
1954
Duration
110 min
Genre
Drama, western
Format
Digital
Synopsis

Vienna, the owner of a saloon of exceptional value because it is located on the future railroad line, attracts the animosity of the local ranchers. Following the death of her brother, Emma Small, jealous of Vienna's independence, launches a cabal against her. Johnny Guitar, a cowboy musician who had just been hired at the saloon, tried to intervene.

Johnny Guitar

La bande-annonce est en VO. Le film sera présenté avec sous-titres français.

Nicholas Ray

Nicholas Ray (born Raymond Nicholas Kienzle Jr., August 7, 1911 – June 16, 1979) was an American film director, screenwriter, and actor best known for the 1955 film Rebel Without a Cause. He is appreciated for many narrative features produced between 1947 and 1963 including They Live By Night, In A Lonely Place, Johnny Guitar, and Bigger Than Life, as well as an experimental work produced throughout the 1970s titled We Can't Go Home Again, which was unfinished at the time of Ray's death.

Explore

Johnny Guitar is a work born of the purity of the great classic westerns, whose "clear line", often inspired by the foundations of Greek tragedy, has revealed one of its simplest and most profound possibilities in cinema, revealing the hallucinatory spectacle of the meeting point between the morality of beings and the territories they tread upon with their feet.
Simon Galiero
2008
About Johnny Guitar
Full cast
About Nicholas Ray
Filmography
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Johnny Guitar (VOSTF)
dimanche 14 août 2022
à 16:00
Date
dimanche 14 août 2022
à 16:00
Lieu
Salle de projection principale
Date
Le 14 août 2022
Durée
110 min
Cycles
Les incontournables

Dresser des listes est une activité dont sont friands les cinéphiles. Tous les ans, ce même rituel : compilation des dix meilleurs films, avec analyses comparées, débats, discussions enflammées. Mais qu’en est-il de la liste ultime des films les plus marquants de l’histoire du cinéma? C’est-à-dire ces films qu’il faut avoir vus, ceux qui ont transformé à jamais l’art du cinéma, mais aussi notre manière de voir une culture, d’appréhender le monde autant que sa propre vie? Ce programme fait le pari de répondre en partie à ce défi avec près de quatre-vingts films, produits entre 1916 et 1960, en attendant vos listes!

Johnny Guitar
Réalisé par
Nicholas Ray
Langue
VOSTF
Pays
États-Unis
Année
1954
Durée
110 min
Genre
Drame, western
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

Vienna, la tenancière d’un saloon d’une valeur exceptionnelle car situé sur la future ligne de chemin de fer, attire l’animosité des éleveurs de la région. Suite à la mort de son frère, Emma Small, jalouse de l’indépendance de Vienna, lance une cabale contre elle. Johnny Guitar, un cowboy musicien tout juste embauché au saloon, tente de s’interposer.

Johnny Guitar

La bande-annonce est en VO. Le film sera présenté avec sous-titres français.

Nicholas Ray

Nicholas Ray, de son vrai nom Raymond Nicholas Kienzle, est un réalisateur, scénariste et acteur américain né le 7 août 1911 à Galesville (Wisconsin) et mort le 16 juin 1979 à New York (New York).

(Wikipedia)

Explorer

Johnny Guitar est une œuvre née de l’épure des grands westerns classiques dont la « ligne claire », s’inspirant souvent des fondements de la tragédie grecque, a révélé au cinéma l’une de ses possibilités les plus simples et profondes, dévoilant le spectacle halluciné du point de rencontre entre la morale des êtres et des territoires qu’ils foulent de leurs pieds.
Simon Galiero
2008
À propos de Johnny Guitar
Distribution complète
À propos de Nicolas Ray
Filmographie
Ouvrir