Skip to contentSkip to navigation
The Blinding Sea (VOSTF)
Location
Fernand-Seguin screening room
Date
June 19th - 23rd, 2021
Duration
108 min
Cycle
New releases

The mission of the Centre d'art et d'essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) is to primary program Quebec-made documentaries and independent fiction, as well as international documentaries, animated and foreign films, while encouraging opportunities for meetings between the public and the artists. Its programming is presented in conjunction with the Cinémathèque québécoise’s under the label Nouveauté.

The Blinding Sea
Directed by
George Tombs
Language
VOSTF
Origins
Canada
Year
2020
Duration
108 min
Genre
Documentary
Format
Digital
Synopsis

The Blinding Sea is a documentary film chronicling the life and career of Norwegian polar explorer Roald Amundsen in the years 1897-1928. This award-winning film uses the camera to explore polar landscapes and seascapes, record oral traditions, and evoke states of psychological and physical health.

The Blinding Sea
Awards

George Tombs

George Tombs is a Montreal-based artist-historian and award-winning writer and filmmaker. As a journalist and former Michener Fellow, he reported from six continents, later serving as executive director of an international medical association and then as a university professor. His biography of fallen newspaper magnate Conrad Black, Robber Baron (2007), was a Canadian bestseller. George holds a PhD in History from McGill University and completed a post-graduate year in Medical Science at Oxford University. The Blinding Sea is his first film.

Explore

+7
Open

Skip to contentSkip to navigation
The Blinding Sea (VOSTF)
Lieu
Salle Fernand-Seguin
Date
Du 19 au 23 juin 2021
Durée
108 min
Cycles
Nouveautés

Le Centre d’art et d’essai de la Cinémathèque québécoise (CAECQ) a pour mission de programmer prioritairement des documentaires et des fictions indépendantes québécoises, mais également des documentaires internationaux, des films d’animation et des films étrangers sous-titrés en français en privilégiant les occasions de rencontres entre le public et les artisans des films. Sa programmation est présentée conjointement à celle de la Cinémathèque québécoise sous la mention Nouveauté.

The Blinding Sea
Nouveauté CAECQ
Réalisé par
George Tombs
Langue
VOSTF
Pays
Canada
Année
2020
Durée
108 min
Genre
Documentaire
Format
Numérique
Synopsis

The Blinding Sea est un long métrage documentaire qui retrace la vie et la carrière de l'explorateur polaire norvégien Roald Amundsen dans les années 1897-1928. Ce film primé utilise la caméra pour explorer les paysages polaires et marins, enregistrer les traditions orales et évoquer les états de santé psychologique et physique.

The Blinding Sea
Prix et reconnaissances

George Tombs

George Tombs est un artiste-historien établi à Montréal et un écrivain et cinéaste primé. En tant que journaliste et ancien boursier Michener, il a fait des reportages sur six continents. Il a ensuite été directeur exécutif d'une association médicale internationale, puis professeur d'université. Sa biographie du magnat de la presse Conrad Black, Robber Baron (2007), a été un best-seller canadien. George est titulaire d'un doctorat en histoire de l'Université McGill et a effectué une année d'études supérieures en sciences médicales à l'Université d'Oxford. The Blinding Sea est son premier film.

À explorer

+7
Ouvrir