Skip to contentSkip to navigation

ACPAV : 50 years of free cinema

Foyer Luce-Guilbeault
ACPAV - 50 ans

Les anniversaires s’enchaînent mais ne se ressemblent pas ! Pour souligner les 50 ans de l’Association coopérative de productions audio-visuelles (ACPAV), nous présentons plusieurs longs métrages et un programme de courts afin de mesurer la place exceptionnelle occupée par cette organisation au sein de la cinématographie québécoise. Plusieurs cinéastes ayant contribué à leur vaste catalogue viendront présenter leurs films et parfois ceux des autres! D’André Forcier à Benoit Pilon, de Brigitte Sauriol à Pierre Falardeau, en passant par Léa Pool et Paul Tana (pour n’en nommer que quelques uns), l’histoire du cinéma au Québec s’écrit avec l’ACPAV depuis maintenant cinq décennies.

September 9th - October 31st, 2021

Founded in 1971, ACPAV [Cooperative Association of Audio-Visual Productions] celebrates its 50th anniversary this year. This is the opportunity to highlight the importance of the directors who have worked with the cooperative and the multitude of films produced there, many of which have become essentials of Quebec cinema — L'eau chaude, l'eau frette (1975), Elvis Gratton II : Miracle à Memphis (1999), or more recently, Antigone (2019). This exhibition brings together photographs, posters and testimonials celebrating local auteur cinema.

Pierre Falardeau (director) and Julien Poulin (actor) on the set of Elvis Gratton II : Miracle à Memphis (Pierre Falardeau, 1999). Photographer : Carl Valiquet.

Jean-Daniel Lafond (director) and Michaëlle Jean (journalist) on the set of Tropique nord (Jean-Daniel Lafond, 1994). Photographer : Serge Giguère.


ACPAV was officially created on February 6, 1971. It was founded "with the objective of facilitating and promoting the conception of films (...) by young Quebec artists". To do so, film professionals decided to create a production structure in line with their creative process, enabling them to share tools and expertise.

This desire is typical of the early 1970s, a time marked by the launching of many collective projects and a climate of national affirmation all over the world. The young Quebec auteur cinema follows the current of this pivotal era by seeking to carve out a lasting place for itself in what is beginning to resemble an industry. About thirty filmmakers and artisans are part of this first version of the ACPAV. Among them, Pierre Harel, Jean Chabot, Mireille Dansereau, Roger Frappier, Danielle Gagné, Marc Daigle, Hubert-Yves Rose, André Théberge, François and Yves Beauchemin… (ACPAV Website)

ACPAV producers: Marcel Sabourin, Bernadette Payeur, René Guessaz, Marc Daigle, François Dupuis.